The shooters and their fate

During the main trial, which stretched for about 8 years, a total of 41 accused were named by the prosecution, of whom only nine could be brought to trial. The rest were either acquitted, remained absconding or were killed by rival gangs. The prosecution examined 75 witnesses of whom 21, including a police inspector, turned hostile. A profile of four of the shooters.

Subhash Singh Thakur:

At the time of the incident, Thakur was the president of Thane Municipal Corporation and was directly involved in the shooting of Shailesh Hadlankar and two police constables. A trial court sentenced him to death but the Supreme Court commuted it to life imprisonment in 2001. Thakur is currently lodged in a Uttar Pradesh jail where he has several other criminal cases against him.

Kishore Gairkipatti:

Another shooter who was arrested soon after the incident and later gave a confessional statement to the police naming the other accused and the roles played by them. Gairkipatti was finally sentenced to 10 years in jail by the Supreme Court and is currently behind bars.

Jayant Surya Rao:

He was a former chairman of the Bhiwandi-Nizampur municipal corporation and also named as an accused in the case. The police said that he too was involved and was sentenced to seven years in jail by the Supreme Court.

Sunil Sawant alias ‘Sautya’:

He could not be tried for his crime as members of the Chhota Rajan gang bumped him off in Dubai a few years after the J J Hospital shootout took place.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: