Mumbai Suburban District

The Mumbai suburban district (मुंबई उपनगर जिल्हा) is a district of the state of Maharashtra, India. Its headquarters is in Bandra (East) (Vandre). It consists of five administrative subdivisions or tehsils: Mulund, Kurla, Bandra, Andheri, and Borivali. The district along with Mumbai City district make up the metropolis of Mumbai. Total area: 370 km².[1]

This is the second smallest district of Maharashtra , administratively comes under Konkan Division.

The jurisdiction of Mumbai Suburban District is from Bandra to Dahisar, from Kurla (Chuna Bhatti) to Thane and from Kurla up to Trombay Creek.

Mumbai Suburban District is one of the largest districts in the country by population. The current population is 85.87 Lakhs, according to 2001 census. The Mithi River is the main river in the district.

Many important places have adorned the beauty of this district, including Mount Mary Church, Mahakali Caves, Essel World, Water Kingdom, Sanjay Gandhi National Park, Aarey Colony, Kanheri Caves, Film City, Tulsi Lake, Vihar Lake and Powai Lake.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: