Mumbai Conurbation

The Mumbai Conurbation comprises the metropolitan city of Mumbai, and six urban areas – Thane, Navi Mumbai, Mira-Bhayandar, Kalyan-Dombivali, Ulhasnagar and Bhiwandi-Nizampur as well as several other towns and villages. Several public authorities are responsible for development and maintenance of the Mumbai Conurbation. While each urban area or township has its own local self government the MMRDA undertakes projects that cross over the local governments. Mumbai city – especially the Greater Mumbai area – is plagued with troubles due to concentration of businesses and lack of supporting infrastructure. Some of the projects MMRDA undertook were to move some of these business to other areas in the Mumbai Conurbation. For example, some of the wholesale markets were moved out of Greater Mumbai to other areas in the Conurbation. The entire island is called the Mumbai Metropolitian Area.


  • Vasai
  • Navghar-Manikpur
  • Nala Sopara
  • Virar
  • Ambernath
  • Kulgaon-Badlapur
  • Matheran
  • Karjat
  • Khopoli
  • Panvel
  • Uran



  • Mumbai Port
  • Jawaharlal Nehru Port

Industrial Area

  • Kalyan Complex Notified Area
  • Thane-Belapur Industrial Zone
  • Taloja Industrial Estate


  • Ulhas
  • Karanja
Posted in Main. 1 Comment »

One Response to “Mumbai Conurbation”

  1. swapna Says:

    good information…if maps related would have been there helped more !

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: