Salutations to Mumbai ka Raja

CelebrationCelebrate the festival of Ganesh, Mumbai’s favourite god. While the mighty Lord sits majestically on his vahan, thousands of Mumbaites busy themselves anointing him.
Who will make the biggest and best Ganesh idol this year? Will the Lalbaug Ka Raja score again? Which mandal will attract the longest queue? The competition hots up. Ganesh Chaturthi heralds days of joy, reverence and festivities in Mumbai.
Sculpting clay Ganesh idolsEarly in September, on the fourth day of the bright half of Bhadrapad, the festival of Ganesh Chaturthi is celebrated. Months earlier, thousands of clay idols of Lord Ganesh are made in Mumbai. To many Mumbaites, the festival offers an alternate source of income as they get down to the task of sculpting clay Ganesh idols. Ajay Bandekar, who has a sandwich and fruit juice stall in Prabhadevi, changes his profession to sculptor from July to September.

Sale of Ganesh idolsA Ganesh idol can cost anywhere between Rs 100 for a palm-size idol to thousands of rupees for large idols. Even with the escalating prices of the clay idols, the number of orders each year only increase, giving rise to more artists and more factories.

The renowned patriot Lokmanya Bal Gangadhar Tilak initiated this community Ganesh festival in 1892. He recognised its appeal amongst India’s vast population, and used it to create a public festival and thereby propogate the struggle for independence.

Ganesh DarshanA number of exhibitions in the city showcase both traditional and unique forms of abstract idols. The World Trade Centre has an exhibition-cum-sale of some of the best collections every August. Ganapathy Darshan displays a collection of unique wood and stone carvings and traditional bronze icons at the Sachivalaya Gymkhana opposite the Mantralaya.

Women get busy making steamed modaks (sweets made from flour and stuffed with coconut and sugar) and other festive dishes.

Immersion The Ganesh idols are immersed on the second, fifth, seventh or 11th day (Ananta Chaturdashi), or the day preceding the full moon day of Bhadrapad, which brings one phase of the Chaturmaas festive season to an end.

Amidst picturesque processions, with the rhythm of bells and drums, the Ganesh idols are immersed by midnight.
And Mumbai waits for the excitement to return next year. . . .

61 Responses to “Salutations to Mumbai ka Raja”

  1. sandeep Says:

    I WANT THIS YEARS LALBAUGCHA RAJAS PICTURE (2007)
    PLS MAIL ME “GANAPATI BAPPA MORYA,MANGAL MURITI MORYA”
    THANKS

  2. ekbal B. Das Says:

    plz send me ganpati bappa pic. 2007

    Regards

    ekbal B. das

  3. Sachin R.suryawanshi Says:

    Hey!!!

    Doing very great job… Keep it up… if you need any support please get back to me…

    All the best…

    Regards,

    Sachin

  4. RASHMI Says:

    I WANT THIS YEARS LALBAUGCHA RAJAS PICTURE (2007)
    PLS MAIL ME “GANAPATI BAPPA MORYA,MANGAL MURITI MORYA”
    Thank”s
    RASHMI ,,,,

  5. karuna Says:

    Please mail me this year – 2007 lalbaug cha raja – pics..

    I want to do Darshan but not getting a chance to.. really wanna see the pics..

  6. Santosh Sharma Says:

    Hi,
    Could you please send me the picture of Lalbaug Ka Raja of this year? I will be very greateful to you.

    You are doing very nice job, Bappa will bless you with happiness and success in your life. Take care.

    Thanx and Regards

    Santosh

  7. Firoze Shakir Says:

    Do visit my site for Lal Bagh ChyaRaja pictures and 2007 Ganesh Visarjan at Girgaum Chowpatty, Juhu Beach,,,
    You have a very nice site that evokes the spirit of Mee Mubaikar
    Warm Regards
    Firoze Shakir
    Photographerno1

  8. samar wind Says:

    sir, please please send to me the king of god “LALBAUG KA RAJA’S” PHOTOGRAPH.

    GANPATIBAPPA MORIYA

  9. anil dixit Says:

    i want this year lalbaug ke raja’s aarti video

  10. paiya Says:

    Picture of Lalbag ka raj

  11. Venkatesh Says:

    i want the address of lal bagh rajas place,pl. also send me the 2007 lal bagh ka rajas picture

  12. ASHVIN DESHPANDE, LATUR Says:

    I like the MUMBAI city becoz LALBAG GANPATI

  13. Nilesh Hajare Says:

    i want 2007 years lalbaghcha raja & khetwadi all ganapati
    ganapati bapa morya, mangal murti morya

  14. ali Says:

    Hi, this ali i wayt the photo of year 2008 when bapa comes to lal baug ya i now this that i am bori but my sis wants this photo bcoz my suis is pure guj she mad me bro & i made her sis bcoz she is so sweet u can ask about her my as above my mail add on yahoo messenger
    Plzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz send me the photo ganapati bapa morya, mangal murti morya even all photos.
    Thanks,

  15. GAURAV Says:

    i want 2008 all ganpat mandal images please

  16. akhilesh sayare Says:

    Plzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz send me the photo ganapati bapa morya, mangal murti morya even all photos uptill now. since this is the 75th year of bappa ji it will be highly appreciated if you send me the the pictures right from the begining till this year
    Thanks,

  17. akash pukale Says:

    i want lalbagh kha raja 2008 image’s

  18. deepak Says:

    this is mumbai king Lalbaug Ka Raja

  19. deepak Says:

    god tushi great ho……………………………….

  20. VIBHA Says:

    please please send to me the king of god “LALBAUG KA RAJA’S” PHOTOGRAPH

  21. sukhmani Says:

    Ganu bhaiya ke jai ho………………

    Ganpati baba morya morya morya….aaa

  22. Sushma Says:

    Hi,

    kinldy send me a lalbaug ka raja’s phota for this year 2008.

    Regards,
    Sushma

  23. MAHESH Says:

    I WANT PHOT OF LALA BAG KA RAJA GANPATI OF 2008,ON GAN GANPAT NAMAH,GANPATI BAPA MORIYA

    PLS SEND ME PHOTO URGENTLY

  24. rishi thakur Says:

    plz send me this year’s lalbagh raja’s pic
    i need them
    i love ganesh
    jai ganesh

  25. manoj Says:

    please mail me this years photo of lalbaugh ka raja

  26. Yogita Says:

    Please send me the video of the first day when lal baugh cha raja was greeted with the aarti n pooja.thanks

  27. swapnil pimpale Says:

    hi can u please send me the history of lalbagh cha raja, how it started to 75 years with all photographs and also send me this year aarti video and photos of bappa if you give me i am very appreciated to you
    thanks a lot
    ganapati bappa morya
    regards
    swapnil pimpale

  28. Rama Balabha Maharana Says:

    sir/madam,
    I was at Mumbai, this time I am out of Mumbai. Please send me Lalbag Cha Raja’s photos.
    “GANPATI BAPA….
    MO…RIA”

  29. vrinda shah Says:

    “shree ganeshya namaha”
    Can u please send me the video and the picture of lalbag cha raja of this year. I would greatly appreciate that gesture of yours. I live overseas and have heard a lot.

    Thank You
    Mrs. Shah

  30. Nilesh Says:

    Request you to please send us the Photo/image of Lalbaghcha Raja

  31. Jagdish Gaikwad Says:

    HI

    Please provide photo for the year 2008

  32. IRFANANSARI Says:

    I LOVE LALABAG CHA RAJA BECUSE I

  33. meena Says:

    hi can u please send me the history of lalbagh cha raja, how it started to 75 years with all photographs and also send me this year aarti video and photos of bappa if you give me i am very appreciated to you
    thanks a lot
    ganapati bappa morya
    regards
    mika jain

  34. aditya a gangan Says:

    please send me lalbaugh cha raja images,if possible waitin for ur postive reply
    thanking you
    frm heart !!!!

  35. hemant naik Says:

    hi pls mail me photos of laibaugh cha raja of 2008 its a request.

    thanking you
    hemant.

  36. D HARNATH REDDY Says:

    I LOVE LAL BAGH KA RAJA VERY MUCH AND I WILL BE PLEASED IF YOU SEND ME A PHOTO OF LAL BAGH KA RAJA . JAI JAI SRI MAHA GANESH

  37. Vsu Says:

    “wow is great magical LAL_BAG_ KA RAJA ”

    Thanks,
    Vasundhara

  38. shailesh bhosle Says:

    Pls send me the more photo of Ganeshgalli’s ganpati

  39. ketan mhatre Says:

    i wnt a lot of lalbaugcha raja phtos

  40. AMIT Says:

    hihi my mother has kidney disises.i feel very alone.i weep.if mother”s kidney will be normal i will go in bombay.ha laal baag ke raja please do normal my mother”s kidney and all rog in my mother body. do not alone me.please god help me.

  41. vanita Says:

    hi can u please send me the history of lalbagh cha raja, how it started to 75 years with all photographs and also send me this year aarti video and photos of bappa if you give me i am very appreciated to you
    thanks a lot
    ganapati bappa morya
    Regads.

    vanita chavan

  42. Manish Punjabi Says:

    I WANT THIS YEARS LALBAUGCHA RAJAS PICTURE (2009)
    PLS MAIL ME “GANAPATI BAPPA MORYA,MANGAL MURITI MORYA”
    THANKS
    Manish Punjabi

  43. rakesh Says:

    pl sant ganpati bapa 2009 picher

  44. kitty Says:

    pls send me ganpati photo of lal baug cha raja 2009

  45. parag vaja Says:

    plzzzzzzzzzzzzzz send me ganpati bappa newest full photos

  46. rajneesh Says:

    plz let me know when should i plan to come to mumbai to see LAL BAGH KE RAJA JI festival and when GANPATI JI idols will be immersed

  47. Yogesh Doke Says:

    Dear sir,
    This year we are planning a lalbaug decoration for ganapati festival. We have booked a 9 feet Lalbaug ganpati in Pane(Mumbai ). So sir, we need some idea from you or some pics of lalbaug decoration for our best view.
    Please help & Reply.

  48. shubham Says:

    please mail me the pics of lal bagh ka raja

  49. Patel Elesha Says:

    please give me the address of Lalbaug Ka Raja . i live in gujarat state and i want to come lalbaug so please give details regarding the address and how i will come to bombay give some train and buses details in bombay

  50. yatindra Says:

    please send me ganpati bappa morya, mangal murti morya . LAL BAG KE RAJA KI SABHI PHOTOGRAPH BHEJANE KI KRIPA KARE.
    REGARDS
    YATINDRA

  51. yatindra Says:

    I WANT THIS YEARS LALBAUGCHA RAJA’S PICTURE (2010)
    PLS MAIL ME “GANAPATI BAPPA MORYA,MANGAL MURITI MORYA”
    THANKS
    YATINDRA MISHRA

  52. avi Says:

    ganpati baapa moriya

  53. ishita mishra Says:

    i love ganpati……………………………………..

  54. ishita mishra Says:

    ganpati bapa moriya ………….

  55. paras Says:

    please give me the address of lal bag ke raja i live in mp state and i will come in the raja so please more detail and address send my email and also send photo in all year

  56. Rahul Says:

    Please tell me exact address of lalbhag ganesh it’s urgent……

  57. pooja verma Says:

    plzzzzzzzzz…….. send me pics of 2011 lal bhag ke raja bcz i cant see him on my tv or frm any other source plzzzzz . this my humble request..
    thanku.

  58. rahul jaiswal Says:

    hi can u please send me the history of lalbagh cha raja, how it started to 75 years with all photographs and also send me this year aarti video and photos of bappa if you give me i am very appreciated to you
    thanks a lot
    ganapati bappa morya
    Regads.

  59. a.v.shrinivas Says:

    as every year a fantastic ganesh chaturti cme to an end……ganapati bappa moriya agle baras tu jldi aa…..jai ganesh


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 255 other followers

